

# SOUTHERN BASKETBALL ASSOCIATION 2022 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING (AGM)

# MINUTES

# Monday 21<sup>st</sup> November 2022 - 7:00 PM - 8:00PM

## Sandringham Basketball Association

**Board Attendance:** Phil McFarlane (President), Gerrik Gratz (Vice President), Anne-Maree Nunan (Secretary), Dean Cartwright, Jason Shugg, Kathrine Fordham-King (6)

Life Member Attendance: Judy Barlow, Steven Lunardon, Frank Russo, Mark Mitchell, Bill Evans, Andrew Stavropolous, Louise Graham, Andrew Maloney (8)

Member Clubs: Paul McMahon (President - Sandy Saints), Richard Hordejuk (President – Beaumaris Sharks), Rachel Capp (Co-President – Mordy Flyers), Talar Wadeson (Co-President – Mordy Flyers), Lisa Mouncer (President – Bullits), Lauren Sheriff (Vice-President – Mentone Mustangs), Erin Peters (Administrator – St Leonards Basketball Club) (7)

Playing Member Attendance: John Watson (1)

**General Attendance:** Craig Weir (CEO), Nathan Crosswell, Simon Giovannoni, Sophie Smirniotis, Vicki Barlow, Margaret Bell, Emma Jarman, Scott Harvey, Keith Murray (9)

## Total Attendance: 31

**Apologies:** Natalie Hughes (Treasurer), Ian Leckie (Life Member), Natasha Kalweit (President – Moorabbin Tigers)

Chairperson – Phil McFarlane (President)

Meeting Opened - 7:02pm

1. Welcome – Chairperson called the meeting to order.



The Chairperson advised that in accordance with Section 16(2) of the Constitution there must be a quorum of 5 members present before the meeting could proceed. 14 members were noted as present at the commencement of the meeting.

The Chairperson declared that a quorum was present, and the meeting could proceed.

The Chairperson confirmed the AGM process followed constitutional requirements – the notice of the AGM was issued with 21 days' notice, and Agenda was published with 7 days' notice.

## 2. Ordinary Business (in accordance with s12 (3) of the Constitution).

## 2.1. Confirm Minutes of Previous AGM:

The Chairperson noted that only Members present at the 2021 AGM held on 29 November 2021 could move and second the minutes of that meeting.

There were no questions about the minutes.

The Chairperson asked that the minutes of the 2021 AGM 29 November 2021 be moved and seconded.

Moved – Judy Barlow (Life Member), Seconded – Lisa Mouncer (President - Bullits). Carried unanimously by show of hands.

## 2.2. Board Reports:

The President's, Secretary's and Treasurer's reports were tabled at the meeting (included in the SBA Annual Report distributed on 14<sup>th</sup> November 2022). The President and Secretary summarised the relevant reports and called for any questions.

Questions – No questions were received pertaining to the board reports.

The Chairperson asked that the President's, Secretary's and Treasurer's Reports be moved and seconded.



**Moved** – Andrew Stavropolous (Life Member) **Seconded** – Frank Russo (Life Member) **Carried unanimously** by a show of hands.

## 2.3. Appointment of an Auditor for 2022/23 financial year:

The Chairperson asked that Tudor & Company Pty Ltd Chartered Accountants be reappointed as the Associations Auditor's for the 2022/23 financial year.

**Moved** – Lisa Mouncer (President – Bullits) **Seconded** – Louise Graham (Life Member) **Carried unanimously** by a show of hands.

## 2.4. Election of Directors of the Association:

In accordance with Section 23.3 of the Constitution:

"Each Director of the Association shall hold office for a period of three (3) years. When a person's term of office has come to an end he or she will relinquish the position at the end of the next annual general meeting three years after the date of his or her election. This person is eligible for re-election."

Section 23.6 of the constitution states "two Directors will align in the first and second calendar year and three Directors will be elected in the third year of each cycle".

Therefore, in accordance with the Constitution two (2) Directors are required to relinquish their positions at this AGM. The Board agreed that the following Directors would stand down:

- Phil McFarlane
- Jason Shugg

In accordance with Section 24.1 the Secretary has received two (2) nominations for the two (2) Director vacancies.

The bios of the nominees are contained in the AGM Agenda published on 14<sup>th</sup> November 2022.



All constitutional conditions have been met.

The Nominees are:

- a. Phil McFarlane seeking re-election
- b. Jason Shugg seeking re-election

As there are only two (2) nominees for two (2) positions, in accordance with Section 24.4 a ballot is not required and the nominees are deemed elected.

#### 3. Other Business:

## 3.1 Vote for Life Membership for Scott Harvey

A nomination for life membership for Scott Harvey was submitted and endorsed Frank Russo and Andrew Stavropoulos.

Gerrik Gratz ran the review process as detailed in the Life Membership Criteria policy. An Awards committee, comprising Gerrik Gratz (Board Member), Dean Cartwright (Board Member), Craig Weir (CEO), Steven Lunardon (Life Member), Louise Graham (Life Member) and Kristy Mwaba (Mentone Mustangs), convened to confirm the eligibility criteria of 'direct and exceptional contribution' to the SBA and made a recommendation to the Board to endorse the nomination.

The SBA Board met on Monday 14 November and unanimously endorsed the nomination of Scott Harvey for life membership.

The Chairperson asked for a show of hands regarding the election of Scott Harvey as a Life Member, noting a 75% majority of eligible votes was required. The vote was **carried unanimously** by a show of hands.

#### 4. Close:

The meeting was declared closed at 7.36pm.



## 1. Meeting of New Directors and Board:

Following the AGM the Board met in accordance with Section 23(8) of the Constitution to vote on officer bearers and roles. The following was unanimously agreed:

President	Phil McFarlane
Vice President	Gerrik Gratz
Secretary	Anne-Maree Nunan
Treasurer	Natalie Hughes
Director	Jason Shugg
Director	Kathrine Fordham-King
Director	Dean Cartwright

The first meeting of the Board for 2023 will be held on **Monday 6<sup>th</sup> February 2023** at 7.00pm.

End.