

SOUTHERN BASKETBALL ASSOCIATION 2021 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING (AGM)

MINUTES

Monday 29th November 2021 - 7:00 PM - 8:00PM

ZOOM MEETING

Board Attendance: Phil McFarlane (President), Gerrik Gratz (Vice President), Natalie Hughes (Treasurer), Anne-Maree Nunan (Secretary), Dean Cartwright, Jason Shugg, Kathrine Fordham-King (7)

Life Member Attendance: Judy Barlow, Mark Michell, Steven Lunardon, Andrew Maloney, Bill Evans (5)

Member Clubs: Angie Gilchrist (President - Beaumaris Sharks), Lisa Mouncer (President - Bullits), Tim Sullivan (Eagles), Paul McMahon (President - Sandy Saints) (4)

Playing Member Attendance: Nil

General Attendance: Craig Weir (CEO), Nathan Crosswell, Simon Giovannoni, Sophie

Smirniotis, Vicki Barlow, Malcolm Pulling

Total Attendance: 22

Apologies: Louise Graham (Life Member), Ian Leckie (Life Member)

Chairperson – Phil McFarlane (President)

Meeting Opened – 7:05pm

1. Welcome – Chairperson called the meeting to order.

The Chairperson advised that in accordance with Section 16(2) of the Constitution there must be a quorum of 5 members present before the meeting could proceed. 7 members were noted as present at the commencement of the meeting.

The Chairperson declared that a quorum was present, and the meeting could proceed.



The Chairperson confirmed the AGM process followed constitutional requirements – the notice of the AGM was issued with 21 days' notice, and Agenda was published with 7 days' notice.

2. Ordinary Business (in accordance with s12 (3) of the Constitution).

2.1. Confirm Minutes of Previous AGM:

The Chairperson noted that only Members present at the 2020 AGM held on 30 November 2020 could move and second the minutes of that meeting.

There were no questions about the minutes.

The Chairperson asked that the minutes of the 2020 AGM 30 November 2020 be moved and seconded.

Moved – Judy Barlow (Life Member), **Seconded** – Lisa Mouncer (President - Bullits). **Carried unanimously** by show of hands.

2.2. Board Reports:

The President's, Secretary's and Treasurer's reports were tabled at the meeting (included in the SBA Annual Report distributed on 23rd November 2021). Each office bearer briefly summarised the relevant reports and called for any questions.

Question from Angie Gilchrist (President Beaumaris Sharks) – where is the \$1m liability sitting on the balance sheet or notes to the accounts?

There is no liability sitting in the balance sheet currently. The President and CEO are currently in discussion with the Bayside City Council Accountant regarding recognition in balance sheet in next FY. The Heads of Agreement is yet to be finalised that will deal with accounting treatment.

The Chairperson asked that the President's, Secretary's and Treasurer's Reports be moved and seconded.



Moved – Andrew Maloney (Life Member), **Seconded** – Lisa Mouncer (President - Bullits). **Carried unanimously** by a show of hands.

2.3. Appointment of an Auditor for 2021/22 financial year:

The Chairperson asked that Tudor & Company Pty Ltd Chartered Accountants be reappointed as the Associations Auditor's for the 2021/22 financial year.

Moved – Judy Barlow (Life Member), **Seconded** – Steve Lunardon (Life Member). **Carried unanimously** by a show of hands.

2.4. Election of Directors of the Association:

In accordance with Section 23.3 of the Constitution:

"Each Director of the Association shall hold office for a period of three (3) years. When a person's term of office has come to an end he or she will relinquish the position at the end of the next annual general meeting three years after the date of his or her election. This person is eliqible for re-election."

Section 23.6 of the constitution states "two Directors will align in the first and second calendar year and three Directors will be elected in the third year of each cycle".

Therefore, in accordance with the Constitution two (2) Directors are required to relinquish their positions at this AGM. The Board agreed that the following Directors would stand down:

- Gerrik Gratz
- Anne-Maree Nunan

In accordance with Section 24.1 the Secretary has received two (2) nominations for the two (2) Director vacancies.

The bios of the nominees are contained in the AGM Agenda published on 23rd November 2021.

All constitutional conditions have been met.



The Nominees are:

- a. Gerrik Gratz seeking re-election
- b. Anne-Maree Nunan seeking re-election

As there are only two (2) nominees for two (2) positions, in accordance with Section 24.4 a ballot is not required and the nominees are deemed elected.

3. Other Business:

3.1 No request for other business was received by the Secretary.

4. Close:

The meeting was declared closed at 7.35pm.

1. Meeting of New Directors and Board:

Following the AGM the Board met in accordance with Section 23(8) of the Constitution to vote on officer bearers and roles. The following was unanimously agreed:

President Phil McFarlane
Vice President Gerrik Gratz

Secretary Anne-Maree Nunan

Treasurer Natalie Hughes
Director Jason Shugg

Director Kathrine Fordham-King

Director Dean Cartwright

The first meeting of the Board for 2022 will be held on 14 February 2022 at 7.00pm.

End.