

# SOUTHERN BASKETBALL ASSOCIATION 2020 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING (AGM)

#### **MINUTES**

Monday 30<sup>th</sup> November 2020 - 7:00 PM - 8:00PM

#### **ZOOM MEETING**

**Board Attendance:** Phil McFarlane (President), Gerrik Gratz (Vice President), Dean Cartwright (Treasurer), Anne-Maree Nunan (Secretary), Jason Shugg, Kathrine Fordham-King, Scott Harvey, Natalie Hughes (8)

**Life Member Attendance:** Judy Barlow, Mark Michell, Steven Lunardon, Sally Gittus, Andrew Maloney (5)

Member Clubs: David Young (President - AG Giants), Lisa Mouncer (President - Bullits), Alistair Perry (President - Moorabbin Tigers), Paul McMahon (President - Sandy Saints), Amber Dowling (President - Mentone Mustangs), Angie Gilchrist (President - Beaumaris Sharks), Paul Breen (President - Eagles), Peter McKenna (President - Mordy Flyers), Bruce Allen (President - Parkdale Pacers) (9)

Parent Member Attendance: Nil

Playing Member Attendance: Nil

General Attendance: Craig Weir (CEO), Nathan Crosswell, Simon Giovannoni, Sophie

Smirniotis, Vicki Barlow, Margaret Bell

**Total Attendance: 27** 

Apologies: Louise Graham (Life Member), Ian Leckie (Life Member), Jess Gourley (St

Leonards), Bill Evans (Life Member)

**Chairperson** – Phil McFarlane (President)

Meeting Opened – 7:02pm

1. Welcome – Chairperson called the meeting to order.



The Chairperson advised that in accordance with Section 16(2) of the Constitution there must be a quorum of 5 members present before the meeting could proceed. 13 members were noted as present at the commencement of the meeting.

The Chairperson declared that a quorum was present, and the meeting could proceed.

The Chairperson confirmed the AGM process followed constitutional requirements – the notice of the AGM was issued with 21 days' notice, and Agenda was published with 7 days' notice.

# 2. Ordinary Business (in accordance with s12 (3) of the Constitution).

# 2.1. Confirm Minutes of Previous AGM:

The Chairperson noted that only Members present at the 2019 AGM held on 29 January 2020 could move and second the minutes of that meeting.

All agreed. There were no questions about the minutes.

Minutes of 2019 AGM 29 January 2019:

**Moved** – Lisa Mouncer (President Bullits), **Seconded** – Andrew Maloney (Life Member). **Carried unanimously** by show of hands.

#### 2.2. Confirm Minutes of Previous EGM:

The Chairperson noted that only Members present at the 2020 EGM held on 28 October 2020 could move and second the minutes of that meeting.

All agreed. There were no questions about the minutes.

Minutes of 2020 EGM 28 October 2019:

**Moved** – Andrew Maloney (Life Member), **Seconded** – Judy Barlow (Life Member). **Carried unanimously** by show of hands.



# 2.3. Board Reports:

The President's, Secretary's and Treasurer's reports were tabled at the meeting (included in the SBA Annual Report distributed on 23<sup>rd</sup> November 2020. Each office bearer briefly summarised the relevant reports.

The President thanked David Hopkins for his service who stepped down Board during the year due to work commitments and welcomed new Board Members Kathrine Fordham-King and Natalie Hughes who joined the Board during the year. The President also thanked SBA's sponsors for their continued support, particularly in this very challenging year.

The Chairperson asked that the President's, Secretary's and Treasurer's Reports be moved and seconded.

**Moved** – Judy Barlow (Life Member), **Seconded** – Steven Lunardon (Life Member). **Carried unanimously** by a show of hands.

# 2.4. Appointment of an Auditor for 2020/21 financial year:

The Chairperson asked that Tudor & Company Pty Ltd Chartered Accountants be reappointed as the Associations Auditor's for the 2020/21 financial year.

**Moved** – Lisa Mouncer (President Bullits), **Seconded** – Andrew Maloney (Life Member). **Carried unanimously** by a show of hands.

#### 2.5. Election of Directors of the Association:

In accordance with Section 23.3 of the Constitution:

"Each Director of the Association shall hold office for a period of three (3) years. When a person's term of office has come to an end he or she will relinquish the position at the end of the next annual general meeting three years after the date of his or her election. This person is eligible for re-election."

At the 2019 AGM all Director positions were spilled and seven (7) new Directors were elected. The Board has agreed to align with the new requirements of section 23.6 of



the constitution which states "two Directors will align in the first and second calendar year and three Directors will be elected in the third year of each cycle".

Therefore, in accordance with the Constitution two (2) Directors are required to relinquish their positions at this AGM. The Board agreed that the following Directors would stand down:

- Dean Cartwright
- Scott Harvey

Also, in accordance with Section 23.5 of the Constitution:

"In the event of a casual vacancy on the Board, the Board may appoint another person to the vacant office and the person appointed may continue in office up to and including the conclusion of the annual general meeting next following the date of the appointment".

Therefore, the following Director is required to relinquish their position at the AGM.

Kathrine Fordham-King

In accordance with Section 23.7 of the Constitution:

"The Board may co-opt up to two (2) other persons to become non-voting Directors of the Board for a period which will not exceed the time to the next Annual General Meeting".

Therefore, the following non-voting Director is required to relinquish their position at the AGM.

Natalie Hughes

In accordance with Section 24.1 the Secretary has received three (3) nominations for the three (3) Director vacancies.

The bios of the nominees are contained in the AGM Agenda published on 23<sup>rd</sup> November 2020.

All constitutional conditions have been met.



#### The Nominees are:

- a. Dean Cartwright seeking re-election
- b. Kathrine Fordham-King
- c. Natalie Hughes

Current Board Member Scott Harvey is not seeking re-election. The Chairperson thanked Scott for his contribution to the SBA Board through a challenging period.

As there are only three (3) nominees for three (3) positions, in accordance with Section 24.4 a ballot is not required and the nominees are deemed elected.

#### 3. Other Business:

**3.1** No request for other business was received by the Secretary.

# 4. Close:

The meeting was declared closed at 7.34pm.

# 1. Meeting of New Directors and Board:

Following the AGM the Board met in accordance with Section 23(8) of the Constitution to vote on officer bearers and roles. The following was unanimously agreed:

President Phil McFarlane
Vice President Gerrik Gratz

Secretary Anne-Maree Nunan
Treasurer Natalie Hughes
Director Jason Shugg

**Director** Kathrine Fordham-King

**Director** Dean Cartwright

The First meeting of the new Board will be held 15 February 2021 at 7.00pm.

End.